Dimitur Kirov schrieb:
>>> There is one big problem. You cannot change your personal details
>>> until you are connected to the server. At the same time, pure
>>> account settings are kept locally and thus they don't need publish
>>> and retrieve. How do you suggest to bypass these differences?
>
> Markus Lutzer <m.lutzer(a)gmx.de> wrote:
>> In case the user is disconnected either
>> - in the avatar tabs a text informs the user to connect first
> One and the same text, appearing in three tabs is not a good idea.
>
>> - or the avatar tabs itself are disabled that they can not accessed.
>> When pointing the mouse over the disabled tabs a tooltip could inform
>> that the user has to connect first.
> I don't think it is possible to have a tooltip on disabled widgets.
>
> on 06/10/10 Markus Lutzer <m.lutzer(a)gmx.de> wrote:
>> .... This would result in a consistent account dialog with tabs for
>> account, general, connection, OpenPGP, personal details, work, about.
> Consistency is also broken if this dialog behaves differently with
> connected and disconnected accounts, or while waiting for personal
> settings to come from server. There are three situations:
As you said, if Gajim would cache the vcard the usability should be
consistent:
> * disconnected from server
> First three tabs are editable, the other three tabs (or the controls in them) are insensitive and won't become sensitive until Gajim connects to server.
the cached vcard information is displayed. Either a "refresh" button
might allow to fetch more up to date vcard from the server or this is
done automatically e.g. at each connect.
> * connected to server, but waiting for vcard to arrive
> First three tabs are editable, the other three are temporally disabled, but they'll be editable soon. This requires progressbar, but user should now that this progressbar concerns only the last three tabs. I don't know why vcard is loaded from server (instead of just loading cached vcard) before edition, but there should be a reason for that.
This should not happen as long as the vcard was fetched at least once,
which might probably done at first time of configuring the Jabber account.
> * connected to server and vcard has arrived.
> This is fine so far. However imagine that personal details cannot be published due to lack of server abilities, or because user get disconnected before vcard is fully uploaded - very rare, yet still possible to happen. Then Gajim will display error dialog that operation is not completed. This is confusing since local changes will take effect and changes from the last three tabs will be ignored. Also imagine that we cannot save our account settings because of not enough free space on disc - very rare, but user will get confused of what is happening.
If the user changed his vcard, pressed the save/ok/upload button a
message "saving your information on the server" with a progress bar
should appear. If the server is unavailable the message is replaced by
an error message allowing to retry or cancel.
>
> Regards,
> Kirov
>
>